I can haz snacks? It’s Big Game Sunday!

BLITZING EMILY made its big debut on January 7th, which was one of the best days of my life. My author friends Tweeted and e-mailed congratulations. My husband brought me a dozen roses. I got a review from one of my author friends that made me ugly cry with happiness. (Thank you, Kim!) I am so touched by so many people who’ve read the book and loved it.

RUSHING AMY will make its way into the world on February 11th. I am really looking forward to it. I hope you’ll love Matt. All authors fall in love with their heroes, but Matt had my heart before one sentence was written for many reasons. I’ll be interested to hear what my readers think of him, too.

While I am getting ready for a second book release (wooo-hoooo!) my beloved Seattle Seahawks are playing in the biggest game of their lives tomorrow. I have been waiting for this for a long, long time. While I’m counting down the hours tomorrow, I’ll spend some time in the kitchen. We all know the big game means SNACKS! Here’s one of my husband’s favorites. It’s easy, filling, and can be made ahead of time. I have made it so many times now I don’t use a recipe, so let’s hope for the best here. 😉

Seven-Layer Dip

1 can refried beans (I use the smaller can, it can be made with the bigger can if you’d like)

1 ripe avocado (it’s okay to use more than one if you like avocado)

1 large tomato

1 can sliced black olives

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (we’ve also used shredded jack/cheddar, it’s yummy)

1 cup mayonnaise

1 cup sour cream

1 cup salsa (we use picante sauce, which also works)

1 bunch green onions, diced

Using a 13″ x 7″ pan (measurements are approximate, LOL) spread the refried beans evenly in the bottom. Mix together the mayo and sour cream, spread over top of the refried beans. Mash up the avocado, spread mixture as evenly as possible atop the mayo/sour cream mixture. Cut tomato into chunks, spread over avocado. Pour salsa over tomatoes. Spread shredded cheese over mixture. Drain and sprinkle sliced olives over top, and sprinkle diced green onion on last.

Serve immediately or cover and refrigerate for later. Enjoy!

One last thing — if you’d love to chat with others who love football and/or romance, I’ll be taking over my publisher’s Twitter account during halftime of tomorrow’s game! There will be giveaways and fun. If you’d like to join in, we’ll be at hashtag #luvfootball. I hope to see you there!

 

Leave a comment