My process, in a few hundred words…

The wonderful Asa Marie Bradley (brand-new client of Nancy Yost Literary Agency’s Sarah Younger! Woo-hooo!) tagged me in a blog post last Monday. Did I mention that she’s also a Golden Heart nominee this year? She’s terrific, and nobody is more excited to have a new agency sister than I am! Be sure and check out her website, won’t you?

What am I currently working on?

I am starting a Seattle Sharks holiday novella TODAY. I have wanted to write a holiday novella for a long time now; it’s the time of year when everyone falls in love with everything! I hope everyone enjoys the finished product, which will be done by the second week of August. I also turned in COVERING KENDALL, book four of the Love and Football/Seattle Sharks series, last Friday afternoon. (Waves at Amanda the editor and Sarah the agent…)

How does my work differ from others in this genre?

I write contemporary sports romance. I’ve been watching football for most of my life. I’d like to think my books are humorous as well as attentive to the little details that a football fan would find important in the story. I’d also like to believe that a reader who knows NOTHING about football (or isn’t so sure about reading a book set in the world of a fictitious pro football team!) would enjoy the books, too.

Why do I write what I write?

I write contemporary romance because it’s easy to immerse myself in the everyday world of my characters. I love the thought that lives change when two people meet in the coffee line, at the grocery store or at a sporting event.  There’s thousands of love stories happening all around us! I write about Seattle (my hometown!) because I’ve had a lifelong love affair with it.

Seattle is a good-sized city that’s actually a small town, and I do my best to reflect that in my novels. There’s so much more here than rain and flying fish.

How does my individual writing process work?

There are two kinds of authors: Plotters, and pantsers. Plotters know what is going to happen in the story before they start. They make notes. They’re organized. And then there’s me. I’m a pantser. I have some idea of my characters before I sit down at my desk. I know how the story opens and the first “turning point” or inciting incident. I have a good idea of what the ending will be like — usually. COVERING KENDALL is out in October of 2014; I wasn’t sure how I wanted to end the book until two days before I wrote it.

The biggest part of my writing process is dogged determination. I get out of bed in the morning, take care of the usual, and sit down in the desk chair. I write anywhere between 1,000 – 2,000 words per day, depending on what my characters are doing. The patron saint of romance writers is Nora Roberts, who has famously said (paraphrased): “I can fix a bad page. I can’t fix an empty one.” If you want to write for a living, you must write every day.

Thank you again to Asa for tagging me! It’s now MY turn to tag… and she has no idea I’m doing it yet. (Bribery might be required!) My wonderful critique partner Jessi Gage has a boxed set out today with nine other authors. PASSIONATE KISSES is available wherever digital books are sold, and it’s only .99! Buy one. Buy TEN! You’ll love these authors, and the price can’t be beat! Jessi writes contemporary, historical AND paranormal romance. You’ll love her work just like we do!

Tell her Julie sent you. 😉

Leave a Reply

